RSS Feed

dear g~d, i’m horny.

An irreverent prayer? Maybe. Maybe not.

If you think it’s irreverent, think again.

child's prayer - food

what a little girl's ("jayla") prayer might look like, asking g~d for her daddy to make for dessert the chocolate cake that she loves.

Polished? No. But certainly honest and straight from the heart, reflecting the enjoyment of one of life’s pleasures with someone she loves and cares for her.

child's prayer - play

what a little girl's ("chrissy") prayer might look like, asking g~d to help her play with her new friends 'cause they look like they're having so much fun.

Confession. “I enjoy this, but I’m scared of what they may think about me. What if they reject me? But the pull to have fun is greater than my fear. I think I can do it . . . if you come with me.”

“Jesus called over a child, whom he stood in the middle of the room, and said, ‘I’m telling you, once and for all, that unless you return to square one and start over like children, you’re not even going to get a look at the kingdom, let alone get in. Whoever becomes simple and elemental again, like this child, will rank high in God’s kingdom.'” (Matthew 18:1-5, THE MESSAGE)

The older I get the more credence I give to the philosophy that we allow ourselves to create too much distance between us and our childhood. We sell our childhood for the merit badges of responsibility, independence, and success. I know responsible children. Kids who are independent-minded. Ever read articles about successful children – know any? Most of them continue to be children alongside their achievements. Too many of us adults abandon the wonder, joy, and fulfillment of simply being who we are and being so with raw honesty – especially before G~d.

We don’t know yet that pretending before G~d is futile?

“Spirituality and sexuality are two sides of the same coin. There is no way to be physical people without being spiritual people. We have split it and been taught sexual freedom is promiscuity. While we know there are more than two parts to us, we must see and accept these two aspects working in tandem, knowing that when I worship G~d all parts of me get affected – my mind, my genitalia, my hands, my feet. When I worship, all of me shows up.” ~Dr. Willie F. G~dman, from Who Told You That You Were Naked?

We bring it all with us anyway; so, be bold in your relationship with G~d. (Hebrews 4:16) That can mean something more or something else than maybe we’ve always been taught. What can it mean for you today?

childlike prayer of an adult

what an adult-child's prayer might look like, confessing honest feeling/need to g~d.

(c) 2012 candi dugas, llc

About rev. dr. candi

i am a practical, judeo-christian theologian who believes that "g~d is still speaking;" so, i will never "put a period where g~d has placed a comma." (ucc.org) NOTE: my posts & comments expressed on this blog reflect my personal beliefs, thoughts, opinions, etc. & not necessarily those held or expressed by any organization with which i am affiliated. ~rev. candi rev. dr. candi dugas is an ordained clergyperson in the church within a church movement (cwac.us).

2 responses

  1. Truth. A revolutionary concept. A bold new way to talk to God. Can’t wait for the Divine answer!

